An Index of Metals at Musiikkitalo Fri 28.11.2014

An Index of Metals at AAVE Festival 2014

AAVE Festival and NYKY Ensemble in collaboration are very proud to present:

Fri 28.11.2014 at 7pm
Musiikkitalo, Sonore Hall (Mannerheimintie 13 A, Helsinki)
Free entry!

The second performance in Finland of the video opera An Index of Metals composed by italian cult composer Fausto Romitelli and visualised by media artist Paolo Pachini will be happening in Musiikkitalo as a collaboration between NYKY Ensemble from Sibelius Academy and AAVE. The full live version of the last composition by Romitelli brings together opera singing, chamber orchestra, electronic music and multichannel projections. The Finnish premiere of the work was in April in AAVE Festival. Free Entrance, welcome!

According to Fausto Romitelli, “The piece aims to transform traditional opera into an all-encompassing sensory experience that pushes the viewer into a molten substance that is both enlightened and musical—a lava stream of sound, shape and colour where the narrative is replaced by sensations of hypnosis, merging and trance.”

Lauma Ilsuma, flute
Juuli Markkanen, oboe
Helmi Malmgren, clarinet
Laura Vaittinen, trumpet
Lauri Kilpinen, trombone
Anna-Maija Perttunen, soprano
Laura Röntynen, piano and keyboard
Christoffer Isaksson, electric guitar
Sebastian Dumitrescu, electric bass
Elias Lassfolk, violin
Tim Hansson, viola
Sara Viluksela, cello
Christian Øland, conductor
Niko Laasonen, sound engineer, live electronics
Jaakko Kulomaa, live electronics
Davis Ozolins, assistant sound engineer
Otto Olavinen, video technician

Coaching and programme design: Tuija Hakkila
Live electronics coaching: Andrew Bentley
Producer: Libero Mureddu

The NYKY Ensemble is a contemporary music ensemble formed in autumn 2009 and operating under the aegis of the Sibelius Academy. With its regular concerts it serves as a forum for modern music projects initiating students in contemporary musical trends.The line-up depends on the works to be performed. Each concert is preceded by a rehearsal period led by a musician specialised in contemporary music. The ensemble has worked under the artistic direction of Heikki Nikula, Heini Kärkkäinen, Jouko Laivuori, Anssi Karttunen, Mikael Helasvuo, Tuija Hakkila, Jukka Savijoki, Eija Kankaanranta, Jean-Baptiste Barrière, Anu Komsi, Ilmo Ranta, Max Savikangas,Tim Ferchen and Anssi Karttunen.